HOWTO - Telephone System Synchronization Options

Expand / Collapse
 

HOWTO - Telephone System Synchronization Options


Article ID: 51735 - Last Review: January 15, 2013

INFORMATION

SETTINGS

Once you load YourSite Explorer and navigate to the Synchronization pane there are a number of options available to you.  First there is the  Settings on the far left.

Here you set how you want the system to handle telephone system synchronization.
  • Disabled: No synchronization
  • Read: Read the information on the PBX and bring it down to YourSite Explorer
  • Read/Write: When making changes in YourSite Explorer, they will be written to the PBX when you save (Note that you must have the Enterprise Administrator Security Role to do this), and on nightly synchronization, it will bring down any changes on the PBX.

READ OPTIONS

Next are the Read Options.  These are settings relating to the read portion of a synchronization, or pulling data down from the PBX.



The options here are:

  • Create employees with new agents:  When checked, if a new agent is pulled down from the PBX into YSE and the name does not match an existing employee, a new employee will be created and associated automatically.
  • Create employees with new voice extensions:  When checked, if a new voice extension is pulled down from the PBX into YSE and the name does not match an existing employee, a new employee will be created and associated automatically.
  • Use telephone system device names:  When updating devices from the PBX, if there is a disagreement between PBX and YSE as to the device name, we will update to match what the PBX shows.
  • Default employee license:  If employees are being created due to checkmarks in the first two options, the employee will be set to this licensing level by default.
  • Default queue business hour schedule:  If new queues are brought down from the PBX they will be assigned this business hour schedule by default.

To avoid creating excess employee records in YourSite Explorer we recommend checking only one of the Create employees with... options.  Since you can have both extension and agent associated to the same employee you normally wouldn't need sperate employees for each.

If you are uncertain about extra agents or extensions on your PBX being synchronized down, you can keep the option to create employees and simply set the default license to None in order to avoid overlicensing.

The default business hours for queues can be left blank if you wish, but this means that you will need to configure those manually within YourSite Explorer.

WRITE OPTIONS

Lastly is the Write Options. This section currently has only one option.



  • Update telephone directory names: When checked, when saving a change that is writing to the PBX, if there is disagreement between PBX and YSE regarding a device name, we will write the YSE name to the PBX.

 



APPLIES TO

YourSite Explorer version 5.8 and higher 

Keywords: howto sync telephone system synchronization options menu



Rate this Article:
     

Add Your Comments


Name: *
Email Address:
Web Address:
Verification Code:
*
 

Details
Last Modified:Tuesday, January 15, 2013
Last Modified By: amontpetit
Type: HOWTO
Rated 5 stars based on 1 vote
Article has been viewed 8,505 times.
Options